Wednesday, May 15, 2013 6:29 AM
             PRESS RELEASEThe Coalition Against Corrupt Leaders (CACOL) as an aggregate of human rights, community based, and civil society organisations with anti-corruption agenda across Nigeria has recognised the need to honour the corruption fighters, both dead and living across the country.Speaking on behalf of the Coalition, its Executive Chairman, Debo Adeniran averred that the Coalition took the giant stride to rekindle the dwindling fire of corruption fight in the country.

“Due to the endemic corruption ravaging our country with many of our former men of integrity dipping their hands into the pot of sleaze, there is urgent need to encourage the few corruption fighters, both living and dead, in order to serve as catalyst to other corruption fighters’ to be resolute in their fight against the menace in Nigeria, hence the justification for the CACOL Integrity Awards.

The Award seeks to appreciate the contributions of some individuals to the corruption fight in the country. There are six (6) different categories, which are: Symbol of Integrity Award, which is  for someone who has passed through public and private life without corruption blemish. The Legend of Integrity Award is conferred on someone, either living or dead, whose name or personality has become a reference point when discussing the crusade against corruption, while the Hero of Integrity Award is for someone who is still in active service, has opportunity of engaging in corrupt practices but resist being influenced by privileges at his disposal.

Other categories are Icon of Integrity Award that is conferred on someone who has been consistent in the fight against corruption and never wavered for minimum of ten (10) years, the Martyr of Integrity Award, which is for someone who died fighting corruption and protecting goodness and the Integrity Man of the Year Award which is for someone that does something significant in the fight against corruption in a year.

For this maiden edition of the award ceremony, Late Chief Ganiyu Oyesola Fawehinmi, a former human rights crusader would be conferred the posthumous Award of  Legend of Integrity; Professor Tam David-West, former minister of petroleum and Alhaji Lateef Kayode Jakande, former governor of Lagos State, would be conferred Symbol of Integrity Award, while Mr. Razaq Bamidele, a journalist with The Sun and Corporal Azeez Arogundade of the Nigeria Police Force would be awarded the Hero of Integrity.

The event, under the chairmanship of Dr. Tunji Braithwaite, is slated for Thursday, May 16, 2013 by 10:00 am at Osun Hall, Lagos Airport Hotel, Ikeja, Lagos, “Adeniran disclosed.

Abimbola Adegoke
Media Officer, CACOL
14 May 2013

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.